60 Day Challenge – Day 1

25 Feb

Image

New week, new 60 Day Challenge. For the next 60 days, I will be working out 4 days a week/ 2 a day workouts performing a variety of exercises, mainly kettlebell, TRX, jump roping, cycling, yoga and doing the Insanity workouts. My goal is to lose another 10 pounds (179.6 lb now) and drop my body fat into the teens (20.8% now). Along the way, I plan to participate in 5K runs and cycling events. In a month, I’ll be traveling to Michigan to partake in a Killer Gravel Road Race, Barry Roubaix. That will be a good bench mark to see how far I’ve come and to test my strength and endurance both mentally and physically at the half way point of my personal challenge. All of this while eating a paleo-ish diet of lean meats and low glycemic vegetables.

Today’s workout consisted of a power focused kettlebell and body weight workout in the morning. It was a 2 minute tabata of 4 sets of over head walking kettlebell lunges with a series of body weight exercises for 30 seconds on/off for 2 rounds. At night I completed the Plyometric Cardio Circuit of Insanity. I’ve completed 63 days of the Insanity program last year over the summer and was able to lose 7 pounds total but my cardio and endurance was through the roof so this will be my second round.

Can’t wait to see what the beast will look like come April 25!

Leave a Reply

