XC Skiing

26 Dec

Image

Was looking forward to my “rest” day today getting away from my kettlebell workouts these past two days. Chicago got a bit of powder overnight on top of the snow that fell before Christmas. Today my intention was to ski more than my previous best of 1.5 miles. With a temperature high of 30° degrees F, my goal was within reach.

Image
This is my winter wonderland playground

 

Image
Another view from the back of the park next to a frozen pond.

 

Image

I wore my HRM to track my distance and was curious how many calories I would burn. I knew that is will be low since I’m not going that fast. I lapped the park three times. Each lap was getting tougher to glide on the skis. The sun was starting to come out and warm up the park. The snow was starting to stick to the bottom of my skis. I ended up doing 2.54 miles in 50 minutes and burning 250 calories.

Not bad for a rest day!

Leave a Reply

