3,000 kettlebell swings in 21 days

6 Jan

Image

This last Friday I decided to start a new challenge that entails performing 3,000 kettlebell swings in 21 days from Bloom To Fit. You can do as many swings per day as you like. You can take as many days off as you like. You can do all 3,000 swings in one day if you wish or spread them evenly throughout the 21 days. Seems doable right? I took the weekend off but got swinging today. My upper hammies were a tad sore from going all in on Friday.

I was able to do 70 16kg swings straight. I’ve been reading Steve Cotter’s book, Kettlebell Training, to brush up on my kettlebell form and technique. I’ve been using kettlebells for 3 years now and there’s always adjustments you can make to your form to become one with the bell. I’ve been getting a tight lumbar when I perform many swings and it’s because my form was wrong. On my upswing, my arms were separated from my body and caused me overwork my lower back. Steve also explains proper breathing when doing kettlebell movements. Combining proper breathing and form allows you more reps and sets.

Today I knocked out 330 swings. When I reached 300, I did 3 sets of 10 swings and 1 TGUs as a finisher.

Monday’s Finisher
3 sets without rest

10 x 2-Handed Kettlebell Swings
1 x Kettlebell Turkish Get on each side

Day: 4/21
Swings: 632

Leave a Reply

