Kettlebell Swings and Get Up Workout

7 Jan

Image

Since I started doing this 3,000 kettlebell swing challenge, I’m thinking of ways to break up the amount of reps. I’ve been reading about how there’s a workout program called Enter the Kettlebell that utilizes both the swing and get up. By the time I reached my fourth set, I was already warm and sweating. I’ve read an article with Valery Fedorenko where he mentions that Get Ups “…doesn’t make sense from a training standpoint.” I agree that it’s a strength exercise but much more. Strength doesn’t mean anything if it isn’t under control so I believe they are still worth performing.

Kettlebell Swings and Turkish Get Ups
10 sets, rest as needed

30 x 2 Handed Swings
1 Turkish Get Up on each side

When it’s all said and done, you have done 300 swings and 10 turkish get ups. I don’t think I’ve ever done this many get ups in a day. This wasn’t as painful as I thought it was going to be. Ever since I been conscious of my technique and breathing, the movements have been getting easier so to speak. I was able to finish this workout in 40 minutes that included a quick warm up. As a finisher, I did an extra 40 swings to offset the days that I took off.

Day: 5/21
Swings: 972

 

 

Leave a Reply

