The Great Destroyer Modified

27 Jan

Image

I haven’t been posting as much but doesn’t mean that I’m not working out. I’ve been spending the extra time learning and practicing yoga and meditation. I’ve bought several books on yoga about a year ago and I’m finally getting around to reading them. I’m about half way through T.K.V Desikachar’s book, The Heart of Yoga, Developing A Personal Practice. Desikachar is the son of one of the greatest yogis of the modern era. The Heart of Yoga offers an extraction of his father’s system as well as his own approach.

I’ve been practicing yoga and mediation for almost 4 weeks and have seen improvements in concentration and mobility which greatly improve my kettlebell workouts and life outside Pure Savagery. I’ve been developing a home practice but would like to join others that believe in yoga practice.

I’ve been doing Sun Salutation B with Dancing Warrior for 2 cycles before starting my kettlebell workout. I went back to an old favorite, The Great Destroyer. This version is different then Pat Flynn’s but still gets your metabolic furnace boiling.

The Great Destroyer (Modified)
Kettlebell Swings x 10 each side
Reversed Turkish Get Up x 1 each side
REST 30 sec
Kettlebell Snatches x 10 each side
Reversed Turkish Get Up x 1 each side
REST 30 sec
Kettlebell Clean and Press x 10 each side
Reversed Turkish Get Up x 1 each side
REST 30 sec
Kettlebell Front Squat x 10 each side
Reversed Turkish Get Up x 1 each side
REST 30 sec
Push up on Kettlebell other hand on floor x 10 each side
Reversed Turkish Get Up x 1 each side
REST 30 sec
Kettlebell Bent Over Rows x 10 each side
Reversed Turkish Get Up x 1 each side
REST 30 sec

Leave a Reply

