Yoga = Kettlebell = Meditation

5 Feb

Image

 

 

So I’ve still, to my surprised kept up my home yoga practice. Some days are harder than others and just when I’m about to give up I hit a breakthrough. I wasn’t looking for it, it just happened. Getting deeper into the stretch, holding asanas longer, it’s a magical moment where the body tells the mind, “OK gimme more.” This happened to me last night about 30 minutes before midnight. I didn’t think I would get a good quality yoga practice in this late at night but I still wanted to keep my daily practice going. I thought that I would half ass it, get really sloppy then frustrated but the opposite happened.

It makes sense that I had one of my better practice this late at night. It’s a great way to unwind and relax the mind. The body and mind surrenders to all day’s events and seeks to heal itself. The best times for yoga and mediation are in the mornings and at night. Before the body and mind face the world’s distracts and at the end for rejuvenation. Now I’m on that “had a great practice high” and want to repeat that feeling but what mediation and yoga taught me, is that everyday is different. It’s about letting go and being in the present. My next yoga session could be my worst yet. One never knows, all one can do is see the moment for what it is. Nothing more, nothing less.

 I bet people would be surprised to know how much yoga/mediation has so much in common with workouts. In all, form is important, and being aware of your body and mind to avoid injury. The breath helps to relax the mind and squeeze another rep. Today’s workout is based on Pavel’s new book, Simple and Sinister. You can break up the reps how you wish and take as long of a rest as you need. This is an excellent cardio workout that gets your heart beating up your chest and leaves your shirt soaked. Below is how I broke up today’s workout. This is the only workout I’m going to do for the next 60 days.

 

Simple and Sinister – 50 Double Kettlebell Swings/ 15 Turkish Get Ups
7 sets. Only rest after completing both movements.

2 x Reversed Turkish Get Ups (L+R) (I used 16kg bell)
5 x Double Kettlebell Swings (I did a pair of 16kgs)
Rest

1 set
1 x Reversed Turkish Get Ups (L+R)
15 x Double Kettlebell Swings

 

Leave a Reply

