It Doesn’t Get Easier, You Get Stronger!

20 Feb

Image

That was the mantra I kept repeating to myself as my blood was boiling, my heart thumping and my endurance dissipating as I was working on the reverse Turkish Get Up part of the kettlebell complex. I’m not sure if it helped but I did see the workout till the end. I’ve been doing the Simple and Sinister kettlebell complex for the last 3 weeks and this week I’ve started to time myself to see how fast I can finish it. It’s more of an incentive to shorten my rest breaks by focusing on my breath, helping bring down my heart rate. At the beginning of the week I finished the complex at 22.5 minutes. Today I brought down that time to 20 minutes and 52 seconds. I’ll bring out the stopwatch as a benchmark once a week to determine if my conditioning is improving.

To get through the Simple and Sinister complex, you need a good warm up. I’ve been warming up using both yoga and meditation. I’ve noticed that my yoga practice has been getting longer which definitely benefits by kettlebell regimen. The above photo is my new workout space. I had to move indoors due to the frigid temperatures in my garage. It’s not much room, 2×6 feet to be exact. I have to move my mattresses to the side to make room or else no work gets done. Just goes to show you that you don’t need much room, just a little bit of dedication.

Keeping it Savage!

Leave a Reply

